1. <p id="9s4p9"></p><table id="9s4p9"><ruby id="9s4p9"></ruby></table>

      1. <p id="9s4p9"></p>
          1. <acronym id="9s4p9"></acronym>


            Mulivai Cathedral Apia
            siva samoa
            Nature of Samoa

            Talofa Lava

            Samoa is made up of eleven itūmālō (political districts). These are the traditional eleven districts that were established well before European arrival. Each district has its own constitutional foundation (faavae) based on the traditional order of title precedence found in each district’s faalupega (traditional salutations).

            The capital village of each district administers and coordinates the affairs of the district and confers each districts’ paramount title, amongst other responsibilities. For example, the District of A’ana has its capital at Leulumoega. The paramount title of A’ana is the TuiA’ana. The orator group which confers this title?– the Faleiva (House of Nine)?– is based at Leulumoega. This is also the same for the other districts. In the district of Tuamasaga, the paramount title of the district?– The Malietoa title?– is conferred by the FaleTuamasaga based in Afega.

            The itūmālō are further subdivided in 41 faipule districts. They have no administrative function, but serve as electoral constituencies. The faipule districts are also used as regional units for statistics.

            The faipule electoral districts are based loosely on the traditional sub-districts of the Itūmālō. For example, the faipule districts of Anoama’a West and Anoama’a East are based on the traditional sub-district of Anoama’a in the northern half of the Atua district.

            At the local level, there are 265 villages. Additionally, there are some 45 villages the capital Apia is composed of. Apia does not have a common administration, the local power rests with the constituent villages.

            The Banner of Freedom (Samoan: O Le Fu’a o Le Sa’olotoga o Samoa) is the national anthem of Samoa. Both the words (which honour the country’s flag) and the music were composed by Sauni Iiga Kuresa. Samoa adopted The Banner of Freedom as its national anthem upon gaining its independence from New Zealand in 1962.

            Samoa, tula’i ma sisi ia lau fu’a, lou pale lea!
            Samoa, tula’i ma sisi ia lau fu’a, lou pale lea!
            Vaai ‘i na fetu o lo’ua agiagia ai:
            Le faailoga lea o Iesu, na maliu ai mo Samoa.
            Oi, Samoa e, uu mau lau pule ia faavavau.
            ‘Aua e te fefe; o le Atua lo ta fa’avae, o lota sa’olotoga.
            Samoa, tula’i: ‘ua agiagia lau fu’a, lou pale lea!